The Eldritch Heart Review Blitz

Hey, guys!  I have a special post today as a new book has been released: The Eldritch Heart by Matthew S. Cox!  It is a new young adult fantasy that I received for review by the publisher, Curiosity Quills Press, in exchange for being a part of their blog tour hosted by Xpresso Book Tours.  It was just released yesterday and I’m so excited that it’s out in the world now, so go grab a copy!  There’s also a giveaway I’ll share at the end so stay tuned!

Synopsis: 

Princess Oona Talomir enjoys the little things that come with her station: a handmaiden, her lavish bedchamber, and scores of fancy dresses―the duty to win a decades’ long war, not so much.

Oh, did I mention assassins?

Seers foretold the conflict would end by her hand. From the moment she drew her first breath, the neighboring kingdom has been trying to kill her so she could not grow powerful enough to destroy them. The king, fearing for his daughter’s life, has kept her confined to the castle grounds for most of her sixteen years. With the tide of war turning against them, the burden of her crown becomes too much to bear, yet one thing lifts her spirits amid the gloom.

Her servant girl, Kitlyn.

Alas, in a kingdom obsessed with the god of purity, she is terrified to confess her forbidden love. When her father makes a demand she cannot abide―marry a prince to forge a military alliance―Oona panics. He is handsome and honorable, but he’s not Kitlyn. Unable to admit why she cannot obey, Oona does the only thing she can think of, and runs away.

Alone and unprepared in the wilderness, she prays the gods will let Kitlyn find her—before the assassins do.

 

I was very excited going into this book because I love fantasy of any form and I’ve read a lot of indie YA fantasy that I’ve adored, such as the Air Awakens series by Elise Kova.  I wasn’t disappointed.  I was impressed by the diversity with the forbidden lesbian romance, that was really powerful.  I think Oona seemed like a bit of a brat since she was a princess and all.  After reading the Seven Realms series I just pictured her as this awesome kick-butt princess who does everything she can to protect her kingdom, but alas, not everyone can be as cool as Raisa ana’Marianna.  However, I did thoroughly enjoy the story.  I loved the politics of their world and the assassins were a nice touch.  I just think that Oona’s character could’ve been stronger and less whiny, I felt like she ran away just because she couldn’t get her way.  I loved Kitlyn though, she was such a sweetheart and I can see why Oona feels the way she does for her.  I gave this overall a 4/5 stars; the main character was weak but the story and other characters were brilliant.

If you’d like to check out the book, I’ll have the Goodreads and Amazon links below as well as the link to the book trailer.  But now, onto the giveaway!

The giveaway is for a $25 Amazon gift card and ends on August 17th.  Good luck!  Here is the Rafflecopter link: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/d04251231917/

TEH
Purchase:
If you’d like to see the rest of the tour schedule so you can see what other people are posting about the book, including author interviews and guest posts, here’s the link to the tour schedule which is updated daily with links to everyone’s posts: http://xpressobooktours.com/2017/05/09/tour-sign-up-the-eldritch-heart-by-matthew-s-cox/

 

2 thoughts on “The Eldritch Heart Review Blitz

Leave a Reply

