June Favorites 2017

Hey, guys!  Today I thought instead of doing my normal reviews I would do something a little different.  I’m going to be talking about my June favorites.  Can you believe it’s the last day of June already?  Summer’s halfway over and that means I go back to school in about a month and a half.  I’m not ready, are you?

First off, I wanna talk about makeup.  I’ve been loving a ton of makeup recently, mostly Kat Von D products and such.  I used to hate Kat Von D because I was a huge fan of Jeffree Star (still am) and that whole feud with them made me not like her as much as I thought, and so I refused to use her products.  At the beginning of this year, however, I tried her concealer and loved it!  It got me into trying her other products, and the ones I’m currently in love with are the Shade + Light Eye Contour palette and the Studded Kiss lipstick in the shade Lovecraft.  I love these two because they give me a very natural look, and Lovecraft is like a mauve-pink nude shade that is a nude but still has a hint of dark that makes it look really amazing.  I just bought the eye contour brush that goes with the eyeshadow palette and I love it so much, they really are amazing products.  I’ve also been using a Wet n Wild concealer this month that I love a lot more than the Kat Von D one, mostly because it is pretty much the same, just a whole lot cheaper, and personally I think it looks better.  The Kat Von D shade I had showed through a lot and wouldn’t blend all the way so it got a little annoying.  I still liked it but not enough to choose it over the Wet n Wild concealer.  I’ve also just recently gotten into using the BareMinerals original powder foundation.  I had originally been using the BareMinerals matte powder, but Sephora told me last week that they no longer carried it which is extremely dumb, so I settled for the original and I love it as well.  For someone with acne prone skin, mineral makeup is probably the best and it’s still really full coverage.  It doesn’t feel heavy on my face and doesn’t make my face super oily and it helps control breakouts so it’s really great if you’re someone with bad acne like me.  The last thing I wanna mention is the Hello Fab color corrector.  It’s relatively new and helps cover up some of my redness and blemishes so they don’t show through my makeup as much and it’s really amazing so I recommend you check it out!

Now moving on to skin care.  I have eczema on my hands pretty bad so I recently started using the Shea Moisture soap bar for eczema skin and it really helps soften it up when I shower.  Most soaps dry out my skin and give me a bad eczema flare-up so this is something new I’ve been trying that really really works.  Also for my eczema I’ve been using the Vaseline Intense Care lotion.  In the past, I used Bath and Body Works lotion after a shower or before I went somewhere and it would dry up within 30 minutes and I would have to take it with me and keep reapplying it.  The Vaseline lotion though moisturizes my hands very thoroughly and I don’t have to reapply it as often.  For my acne, I’ve been using the Deep Facial Cleanser from Devonne by Demi Lovato (currently shut down at the moment I believe so hopefully the cleanser will still last me a good while) and the Deep Acting Exfoliating Scrub by Clean and Clear.  The cleanser has a mixture of different natural plant extracts such as apple and reishi mushroom so it really gets into your skin and removes all the impurities and excess oil without stripping your skin of its natural oils, so it doesn’t dry out your skin as much as some cleansers do and it makes my face feel so soft.  This is especially when I use the scrub in combination with it because it scrubs off all the dead skin and really exfoliates my skin and leaves it feeling super smooth.  The only thing I would say is that it is a very strong scrub because it has a cooling effect which lets you know that it’s getting deep into your pores and unclogging everything but at the same time it can burn a little if you have sensitive skin, and it also has a very strong scent that sometimes makes my eyes water but I still stand by that I think it’s a good product.  One last thing is this package of Aloe Vera cleaning wipes that I got from Big Lots and I use it to take off my makeup and wipe my face when it feels gross.  It really cleans my skin and doesn’t leave a trace of makeup behind so I think it’s awesome.  They’re extremely cheap for their size too, mine came with 60 wipes and I only paid $2.99 so I highly encourage you to check it out if you have a Big Lots nearby.

Next I wanna talk about apps, TV shows, and movies!  First, I wanna mention this app called Yarn that I started using.  It’s a chat fiction app that is basically scary stories told through text messages.  It’s pretty cool, I’m a bit addicted.  What can I say?  I love creepy stories.  Sometimes it might be a normal story but for the most part they’re usually creepy.  I really like it, though.  I’ve also started using Wish which is a shopping app.  They usually sell pretty cheap stuff and I love using it, I bought a Hufflepuff scarf from Wish that I love so much so it’s definitely pretty great.  Another app I really enjoy is Tastemade.  They have a lot of different recipes on there to try and they always have video tutorials on how to make whatever dish you want.  I love to cook so this has been an amazing tool.  Onto TV shows!  I started watching Designated Survivor and I’m in love with it so far.  Kiefer Sutherland is a great president and honestly if he were the actual president of the U.S. I wouldn’t mind.  I also started Prison Break, which I’m not an enormous fan of yet but I am really enjoying what I’ve seen so far so hopefully it gets better!  I started Glee as well and I didn’t think I would love Glee as much as I do.  The music is phenomenal and I love each and every one of the characters.  It’s such a unique show that I can’t help but cry over.  The last shows I wanna mention are Penny Dreadful and Game of Thrones.  I just recently started Game of Thrones and it’s so awesome and it has so much action and political intrigue.  I can’t believe I didn’t start it until now!  Penny Dreadful is also really cool.  Super creepy, but cool.  Now onto movies.  I watched The Space Between Us last week and fell in love with Gardner’s character.  He is so sweet and innocent and he needs to be protected at all costs.  It’s just such a good movie.  I also watched Before I Fall, which seriously gave me all the feels.  It made me rethink my entire life and I have such a different outlook on life now that I’ve seen it.  Everyone needs to watch this film I’m telling you it will change your life.  Lastly, I watched Struck By Lightning and this is probably my favorite movie now.  It’s so cute and funny and I hate Carson but love him at the same time.  It’s honestly one of the best films I’ve seen ever and it’s fantastic.

Last but not least, books!  I started reading a few books and I’m loving them all so far.  I just finished The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon a few days ago and I don’t know what got me into a contemporary mood since I rarely read that genre but this book… *sigh*.  This book, you guys.  It was so adorable in all the ways and gave me all the feels.  I adore Nicola Yoon’s books and I will buy anything that woman puts out.  It’s all amazing.  I also got on a huge sci-fi kick and started Across the Universe by Beth Revis and Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff.  Both books are fantastic so far.  Across the Universe is very interesting and has a lot of politics, especially the Eldest system, which confuses me a little but I still think it’s really interesting.  The big mystery is so suspenseful and it keeps you wanting to keep reading just so you can figure it out.  Illuminae is pretty cool so far.  The format is weird but I like how it’s a really unique style.  Kudos to Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff for coming up with that.  Lastly, I’ve been reading The Circle by Sara B. Elfgren and Mats Strandberg.  It’s the first in a witchcraft series that was translated from Swedish so that’s awesome since the only translation of a book series I’ve ever read is the Ruby Red trilogy by Kerstin Gier, which was also pretty fantastic and I also did a review for the first two books in that series if you wanna check it out, it’s fairly recent.

I also forgot to mention music!  I’ve been obsessed with Sabaa Tahir’s summer road trip mix (you can find it on her website) and I listen to it a lot when I’m in the pool or driving somewhere.  The songs on it are awesome.  I also really love the new Paramore album and the Harry Styles album.  Paramore is my favorite band and I wasn’t a big fan of this new direction they went in but it’s grown on me and now I really like it!  I’ve also always been a fan of One Direction and Harry Styles has one of the most beautiful male voices I’ve ever heard.  His album pleases me greatly.  Also, I have hated country music for so long, but just yesterday I started listening to Miranda Lambert and realized she’s not so bad.  Little Red Wagon and Somethin’ Bad are my favorites at the moment, they have a lot of spunk.  One last band I wanna mention is Theatres Des Vampires, an Italian gothic metal band.  I like metal music but recently I’ve fallen in love with symphonic and gothic metal especially because of the beautiful instruments they use and the lyrics are usually really haunting and beautiful so I love listening to it.

I realize this post ended up being very long so I’m gonna leave it at that!  Let me know what some of your favorites are!

Thanks for reading!

~stay weird, stay mortal~

CR:  The Circle by Sara B. Elfgren and Mats Strandberg

2 thoughts on “June Favorites 2017

Leave a Reply

