The Gray Wolf Throne Review

Hey, guys!  School’s out and I’ve been pretty lazy lately, so I wanted to do another review for you guys.  I also wanted to let you all know that I’m thinking of starting a Youtube channel so that I can better discuss my opinions on books, do book tags, hauls, and wrap-ups and just general Youtube stuff.  It’s something I’ve been thinking of doing for a while now and I’m just really interested in joining the Booktube community so I can make more friends and get my content seen by more people.  No, I’m not looking for popularity, but I feel not enough people are seeing my blog because blogs aren’t as popular as Booktube, and I want people to get the chance to see what I have to talk about.  Also, it’s hard to get publishers to work with me and send me review copies of books if my blog isn’t getting very many views, so starting a channel on Booktube might help.  I will still keep posting here when I can, but it might not be as often.  Once I upload a video, I will let you all know and you can check it out.  But for right now, let’s get into this review!  I’m coming to you today with a review of The Gray Wolf Throne by Cinda Williams Chima, the third book in the Seven Realms series.  (Warning: Spoilers ahead!)

This book continues right after the events of The Exiled Queen, when Raisa has been kidnapped again, this time by Micah and Fiona in order to take her back to her kingdom to force her into a marriage with Micah, however she manages to escape but is badly wounded and is found near death and rescued by Han.  In doing so, he discovers her true identity as the princess heir of the Fells and feels incredibly betrayed by the girl he is in love with.

The Gray Wolf Throne was absolutely amazing and I felt so bad for Han when he found out Raisa’s identity because I feel like she should’ve just told him sooner who she was instead of leading him on all this time.  I’m just glad they’re at least somewhat back to normal now.  I love their relationship.  I also really enjoyed the political aspect of this one.  Witnessing Raisa’s comeback to her kingdom was so surreal, it almost felt like I was in the middle of a real coronation.  I don’t like Raisa’s sister, Mellony, very much.  She seems very spoiled and bratty and I can’t handle people like that in real life, let alone read about that sort of character in a book.  Raisa is definitely a much better queen than Mellony would’ve been.  I’m not sure I would be able to handle reading about Mellony being queen.  I really love the way all the characters in this series are flawed in some ways, especially Han and Raisa.  They are both pretty good at making mistakes, but that makes them more realistic to me and that’s one of the reasons why this is probably my favorite book series of all time, besides Harry Potter of course.  These books are so amazing that I can always just picture them as movies in my head.  They’re just so good!

I gave The Gray Wolf Throne 5/5 stars.  I’m pretty sad that I’m already on the last book in the series because I’m so engrossed in this world and these characters that I don’t want it to be over yet.  At least there’s the sequel series (Shattered Realms) to look forward to starting once this one is over.  I highly recommend this series, especially for lovers of fantasy.

Thanks for reading!

~stay weird, stay mortal~

CR: Across the Universe by Beth Revis, Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff, The Crimson Crown by Cinda Williams Chima

Leave a Reply

