A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

Hey, guys! I’m back with another review! Sorry if it seems like all I do on my blog is reviews, I’m trying to get caught up with my reviews before I do any other posts. Anyway, today I’m gonna talk about A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E Schwab.

A Darker Shade of Magic is an adult fantasy novel about a guy named Kell who is an Antari, someone with the ability to travel between parallel universes.  Kell travels between parallel versions of London as a messenger for the king and queen, his adopted parents, in his London, known as Red London.  There are 4 different Londons: Red London, which is the magic filled London; White London, which is barren of all magic; Gray London, which is basically a sad excuse for a London, and Black London, which was once filled with dark magic but destroyed and no longer exists.  However, Kell smuggles things from each of the Londons and this eventually brings him into the path of trouble.

I tried reading this once last year when we read it for my school’s book club, but at the time I just wasn’t very interested; I was in a pretty big reading slump.  I got around to reading it once again this year and it was just what I needed.  This book was fantastic!  I can’t believe I didn’t get to it sooner.  It was seriously worth the read.  I especially loved Lila’s character, I thought she was like an epic fearless pirate girl and we see her go through so much character growth as the story progresses.  It’s just so good.

I gave A Darker Shade of Magic 5/5 stars.  I will get to the rest of the books eventually, once I get out of this reading slump.  I highly recommend this series!  Also, don’t be put off by the fact that it’s an adult book.  In my opinion, it still reads somewhat like a young adult book.  I would say it’s a nice blend of both, so if you’re someone who is maybe thinking about branching out into the adult world, I’d recommend giving this a try if you’re looking for something to start with.

Thanks for reading!

~stay weird, stay mortal~

CR: The Wishing Spell by Chris Colfer

4 thoughts on “A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

Leave a Reply

